top of page

Remembering "Grease"


It's no argument, Grease Jr. was a fantastic show. We danced, we sang, and our talented cast

performed to the best of their ability. In this Q&A, we are bringing back memories of

some of our practices that helped our show be as epic as it was.

WHAT'S TRENDING:

How did you become fond of your character, how is your relationship with

him or her, and how do you relate with her?

STEELE (FRENCHY):

I became fond of her [Frenchy] when I really figured her out and understood her. My

relationship with her was pretty solid, like I really understood her. I think I can relate to Frenchy

the most because she is nice at times and sometimes not.

WHAT'S TRENDING:

What affected your performance the most?

PERRY (DOODIE):

My strep throat one month before the play.

WHAT'S TRENDING:

Which scene are you most comfortable doing?

WHITE (RIZZO):

The "Summer Nights" scene.

(Later, she explains that she was comfortable with it because it was the scene she auditioned

with, and the first scene she had ever rehearsed.)

WHAT'S TRENDING:

What is your favorite song from the show to dance to?

FIELDS (SONNY):

I loved "Grease Lightning." It was fun to dance to. It had a really nice beat and was

active. Although I had to do pushups during it... It was active and exciting.

WHAT'S TRENDING:

What was the most memorable moment from the show or rehearsals that you

had with the cast?

FLOM (ROGER)

My favorite moments were the calm moments when we were going over lines and dances together where we're having fun but being natural. The lesson I learned from the show is that, as different as we all are, we all have something in common. We all want to love and be loved, and we all have emotions that are very important to feel. Looking through Sandy’s eyes opened my own, and I saw that everyone is unique, everyone has traits and flaws, but we all want to be cared for and to care for someone else. We all want to be treated with dignity. I especially realized that in the “Look at Me, I'm Sandra Dee," reprise. Sandy wanted to be respected and liked so badly, but she didn't want to risk her reputation. At the end of the day, though, she was happier after she changed because she finally wasn't being held back by her goodie goodie image. That's what really got to me. And I think that that was something that I really needed to hear - that we all want to be respected, no matter how different we are.


bottom of page